FAS Office for Faculty Affairs

Website: Resources for FAS Faculty and Researchers

Science Center Gate DetailThe Office for Faculty Affairs (OFA) is a home base of support for faculty and research scholars at the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS). Its network of deans, appointment administrators, and other staff members extends throughout each of the academic divisions and the Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences. We work with faculty and administrators every day, providing information and advice on appointments, promotions, professional development opportunities, leave, retirement, and other aspects of academic life. With the FAS deans, we conduct data-driven and qualitative analyses, develop policies, and help launch initiatives to enhance faculty life. To further support our faculty, we organize orientations and trainings and publish handbooks on a variety of subjects. Our ultimate purpose is to help the FAS to build an outstanding faculty and to create an environment where these extraordinary scholars and teachers can do their best work.

Dean for Faculty Affairs and Planning

Nina Zipser
617-496-2969
zipser@g.harvard.edu

Senior Associate Deans for Faculty Affairs

Zoe Fonseca-Kelly
617-495-5083
zoefonseca-kelly@fas.harvard.edu

  • Research Appointments
  • Faculty Outside Activities, Conflict of Commitment and Conflict of Interest
  • Recruitment and Retention of Tenure-Track Faculty
  • HR issues related to Faculty Deans and Resident Dean
  • HR issues, policies, and procedures related to Teaching Assistants

Kwok Yu
617-495-7483
kwok_yu@harvard.edu

  • Non-ladder and Visiting Faculty
  • Title IX and Professional Conduct
  • Data and Information Systems
  • Faculty Appointments Office
  • Affirmative Action and Equal Employment Opportunity

Chief of Staff

Jerrine Milke
617-495-0531
jmilke@g.harvard.edu

Office for Faculty Development

Laura Fisher
Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Development
617-496-1162
laura_fisher@harvard.edu

Zoe Fonseca-Kelly
617-495-5083
zoefonseca-kelly@fas.harvard.edu

  • Research Appointments
  • Faculty Outside Activities, Conflict of Commitment and Conflict of Interest
  • Recruitment and Retention of Tenure-Track Faculty
  • HR issues related to Faculty Deans and Resident Dean
  • HR issues, policies, and procedures related to Teaching Assistants

Tyler Kirsch
Associate Director for Faculty Development
617-496-3578
kirsch@fas.harvard.edu

Ruth Molina
Director of the New England Higher Education Recruitment Consortium
617-495-9154
rmolina@fas.harvard.edu
 

Faculty Appointments Office

Ben Marciniak
Associate Director of Academic Appointments and Data Management 
617-496-4456
bmarcin@fas.harvard.edu

  • Aurora, FROPS
  • Academic Appointments
  • FROPS portfolio
  • Aurora

Leanne Chaves
Academic Appointments Coordinator
617-496-3248
lchaves@fas.harvard.edu

  • Harvard College: Freshman Seminars, Expository Writing, Residential Houses
  • Research Centers
  • Museums
  • Office of the Secretary of the Faculty
  • Any other units not specifically listed

Veronica Ortega
Academic Appointments Administrator
617-496-6668
veronica_ortega@harvard.edu

  • Science Departments

Arlene Navarro
Academic Appointments Administrator
617-495-4006
arlenenavarro@fas.harvard.edu

  • Arts and Humanities Departments/Committees
  • Social Science Departments/Committees

Assistant Deans for the Divisions and SEAS

Kendra Barber 
Assistant Dean for Arts and Humanities
617-384-5025
kendrahbarber@fas.harvard.edu

Laura Wipf
Assistant Dean for Science
laura_wipf@fas.harvard.edu

Kimberly O'Hagan
Assistant Dean for Social Science
kohagan@fas.harvard.edu

Diane Schneeberger
Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs
617-496-2869
dls@seas.harvard.edu
  • John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Assistant Dean, FAS Faculty Affairs and Development Planning

Beth Thompson
617-495-9014
beth_thompson@harvard.edu

Office for Faculty Affairs Members

Jose Amorim
Staff Assistant
jamorim@fas.harvard.edu

Seth Avakian
Program Officer for Title IX and Professional Conduct
617-495-9583
avakian@fas.harvard.edu

Danielle Farrell
Program Officer for Title IX and Professional Conduct
617-495-0321
farrell@fas.harvard.edu

Dmitry Kurochkin
Senior Research Analyst
617-496-0152
dkurochkin@fas.harvard.edu

Narissa Khomkhai
Data Analyst
617-496-1225
khomkhai@fas.harvard.edu

Andrea McDonough
Administrative Coordinator
617-496-9697
amcdonough@fas.harvard.edu

  • Staff Assistant for Standing Committee on Women

Lisa Mincieli
Director of Special Projects
lisa_mincieli@harvard.edu

Johannah Park
Manager of Academic Programs
617-495-9892
jkpark@fas.harvard.edu

  • Endowed Professorships
  • Faculty Professional Development and Programming
  • OFA Consultant for Harvard College
  • Australian Studies Committee
  • Science Departments/Committees

Andrea Shen
Associate Director
617-496-5242
andrea_shen@harvard.edu

Stacey Springs
Research Integrity Officer
617-495-0718
stacey_springs@fas.harvard.edu

Eric Young
Ad Hoc Committee Coordinator
617-495-7484
ryoung@fas.harvard.edu

Director, FAS Office of Postdoctoral Affairs

Stephen Kargere
617-495-2052
kargere@fas.harvard.edu