FAS Office for Faculty Affairs

Website: Resources for FAS Faculty and Researchers

Science Center Gate DetailThe Office for Faculty Affairs (OFA) is a home base of support for faculty and research scholars at the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS). Its network of deans, appointment administrators, and other staff members extends throughout each of the academic divisions and the Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences. We work with faculty and administrators every day, providing information and advice on appointments, promotions, professional development opportunities, leave, retirement, and other aspects of academic life. With the FAS deans, we conduct data-driven and qualitative analyses, develop policies, and help launch initiatives to enhance faculty life. To further support our faculty, we organize orientations and trainings and publish handbooks on a variety of subjects. Our ultimate purpose is to help the FAS to build an outstanding faculty and to create an environment where these extraordinary scholars and teachers can do their best work.

Dean for Faculty Affairs and Planning

Nina Zipser
617-496-2969
zipser@g.harvard.edu

Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Kwok Yu
617-495-7483
kwok_yu@harvard.edu

  • Faculty Appointments Office
  • FAS Representative to the University's Equal Employment Opportunity Committee
  • Affirmative Action

Chief of Staff

Jerrine Milke
617-495-0531
jmilke@g.harvard.edu

Office for Faculty Development

Laura Fisher
Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Development
617-496-1162
laura_fisher@harvard.edu

Michael Chandler
Assistant Dean for Faculty Development
617-384-5920
mchandler@fas.harvard.edu

Ruth Molina
Director of the New England Higher Education Recruitment Consortium
617-495-9154
rmolina@fas.harvard.edu
 
Noel Bane
HERC Coordinator
617-495-9154
nbane@fas.harvard.edu

Tyler Kirsch
Operations and Communications Manager
617-496-3578
kirsch@fas.harvard.edu

Faculty Appointments Office

Ben Marciniak
Assistant Director of Academic Appointments
617-496-4456
bmarcin@fas.harvard.edu

  • Aurora, FROPS
  • Arts and Humanities Departments/Committees
  • Social Science Departments/Committees

Leanne Chaves
Academic Appointments Coordinator
617-496-3248
lchaves@fas.harvard.edu

  • Harvard College: Freshman Seminars, Expository Writing, Residential Houses
  • Research Centers
  • Museums
  • Office of the Secretary of the Faculty
  • SEAS
  • HERC postings
  • Any other units not specifically listed

Veronica Ortega
Academic Appointments Administrator
617-496-6668
veronica_ortega@harvard.edu

  • Science Departments

Assistant Deans for the Divisions and SEAS

Zoe Fonseca-Kelly
Assistant Dean for Science
617-495-5083
zoefonseca-kelly@fas.harvard.edu

Chris Kruegler
Assistant Dean for Social Science
617-495-3305
kruegler@fas.harvard.edu

Heather Lantz
Assistant Dean for Arts and Humanities
617-384-5025
heather_lantz@harvard.edu

Diane Schneeberger

Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs
617-496-2869
dls@seas.harvard.edu

  • John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Assistant Dean, FAS Faculty Affairs and Development Planning

Beth Thompson
617-495-9014
beth_thompson@harvard.edu

Office for Faculty Affairs Members

Seth Avakian
Program Officer for Title IX and Professional Conduct
617-495-9583
avakian@fas.harvard.edu

Dmitry Kurochkin
Senior Research Analyst
617-496-0152
dkurochkin@fas.harvard.edu

Narissa Khomkhai
Data Analyst
617-496-1225
khomkai@fas.harvard.edu

Andrea McDonough
Administrative Coordinator
617-496-9697
amcdonough@fas.harvard.edu

  • Staff Assistant for Standing Committee on Women

Lisa Mincieli
Director of Special Projects
lisa_mincieli@harvard.edu

Johannah Park
Manager of Academic Programs
Sexual Harassment Officer
617-495-9892
jkpark@fas.harvard.edu

  • Endowed Professorships
  • Faculty Professional Development and Programming
  • OFA Consultant for Harvard College
  • Australian Studies Committee
  • Science Departments/Committees

Andrea Shen
Associate Director
617-496-5242
andrea_shen@harvard.edu

Moriah Silver
Program Officer for Title IX and Professional Conduct
617-495-0321
moriah_silver@harvard.edu

Eric Young
Ad Hoc Committee Coordinator
617-495-7484
ryoung@fas.harvard.edu

Director, FAS Office of Postdoctoral Affairs

Stephen Kargere
617-495-2052
kargere@fas.harvard.edu